10 rules

You know the feeling when you catch yourself saying or feeling something that surprises you in a good way? When you suddenly realize there was a solid shift inside you that you had wanted for some time but had not realized you actually moved that far?  When what were mountains almost too steep to climb are mere hills now that you can walk upon… That wonderful sense of surprise and elation that all the hard work you put in is coming to fruition.  Quite some time ago I decided to move to a new neighbourhood inside, to a street called “AND I LOVE YOU ANYWAYS” . Into a place of love, kindness, compassion and understanding, of acceptance and forgiveness and growth. That move was not always easy. Frequent trips back into the old neighbourhood, although nowhere near as beautiful a place, it was familiar…and I was wellknown there…and in a strange way that made me feel safe.  Imagine my surprise when I realized that no longer was the old neighbourhood a place where I felt safe, instead I felt in danger and stifled there and longed to be back in my new home. To realize my new home has become familiar and safe, a different way of safe, but safe nonetheless. Safe to grow and explore the unknown . I feel so blessed. Who knows what new home I will choose next..I trust that I will find it when it’s  time to move on. For now I am in the right place.

Synchronicity – found these 10 rules below, how appropriate!

Ten Rules for Being Human

by Cherie Carter-Scott

  1. You will receive a body. You may like it or hate it, but it’s yours to keep for the entire period.

  2. You will learn lessons. You are enrolled in a full-time informal school called, “life.”

  3. There are no mistakes, only lessons. Growth is a process of trial, error, and experimentation. The “failed” experiments are as much a part of the process as the experiments that ultimately “work.”

  4. Lessons are repeated until they are learned. A lesson will be presented to you in various forms until you have learned it. When you have learned it, you can go on to the next lesson.

  5. Learning lessons does not end. There’s no part of life that doesn’t contain its lessons. If you’re alive, that means there are still lessons to be learned.

  6. “There” is no better a place than “here.” When your “there” has become a “here”, you will simply obtain another “there” that will again look better than “here.”

  7. Other people are merely mirrors of you. You cannot love or hate something about another person unless it reflects to you something you love or hate about yourself.

  8. What you make of your life is up to you. You have all the tools and resources you need. What you do with them is up to you. The choice is yours.

  9. Your answers lie within you. The answers to life’s questions lie within you. All you need to do is look, listen, and trust.

  10. You will forget all this.

So good to know I am NOT forgetting this and that a big part of me has accepted this is what life is about!
Thanks for stopping by and enjoy the sunny days 🙂

10 responses to “10 rules

  1. #6 is so so true… and it’s one of those lessons I’m learning over and over.

  2. How timely is this post for me?! But you know that 🙂

    #8 is for me today. Totally.

    Thanks for sharing, Ilka. You rock!

  3. Wow these are so true, it’s nice to have the facts so blatantly pointed out every now and then! love it. #3 applies to me big time!

  4. so so good that you have moved streets!!! Glad its working for you and I was told 7 a few years ago and I really started to examine things about myself when I reacted to others.

  5. A few tinges from some of those that ring true but I think no 6 is kinda where I am at.

  6. not being greedy but I go with #4,5 & 8 whats that saying “we learn something new everyday”

  7. Very cool Ilka, go you!

  8. Ilka – I totally agree with those 10 life lessons.

  9. i’ve learned these lessons too!! soo true!!
    ilka, kannst du mir bitte nochmal deine email-addy schicken?? ich habe einen virus auf meinem pc und komme nicht mehr an deine adresse!! :((
    have a great day!!

  10. This is really cool Ilka. Very inspiring!!!

Leave a Reply

