Back

Sorry I was MIA big time.  Every now and then my life seems to get turned upside down suddenly with no warning… Well the last few weeks were like that.
The house we’re renting is on the market now… yep right before x-mas.. And of course Murphy’s law strikes and that was just the beginning.
My knee -the other one this time;p- is getting worse and I’ve started the process of further treatments ( op’s – scary stuff for me as there’s a lot of bad memories but I’m ready to deal with it now). 
Then our lovely teenage son ,the one that we are so blessed with for being such an amazing young man went a bit through personal hell and back. ( Cant get into details but all relating to his gf and her family).
Gosh it’s so hard being a Mum at times, when you can see where some things might be leading to, recognizing the potential dangers and pain lieing ahead… But you cannot stop them from making their own mistakes or stop their own life’s lessons. But oh boy it’s so hard…
Fortunately he’s honest with us and talks to us as all we can do is have talks, show options, make him aware of pitfalls, remind him of what’s important and then have faith in him. And faith in ourselves that we’ve brought him up the right way. That through the years he’s learned to accept and love himself, is confident in his abilities, that he can think for himself, not onesided but with a wider view. That his ethics and morals are a firm base on which he can weather any storm. He’s such a caring responsible person and it’s hard to see how exactly this might be taken advantage of but then I guess one of the biggest lesson of all is to learn what’s a worthy cause and what is not. 

And all this has been such a learning curve for me as a Mum. I had to really dig deep, face a lot of my fears ( hey this is my baby we are talking about and a part of me wants to wrap him in cotton candy and make sure he’s never getting hurt..LOL ) . Had to realize that I cannot get emotionally drawn into those crisis every time or I’ll  end up an emotional wreck. So I had to take some time out and focus on getting to that point inside me where I can be caring and supportive without getting ‘sucked completely in’. Hehe still some work to do on that one but I’m on the way!

As always I believe that these challenging moments in my life -hard as they are- are great gifts providing me with good opportunities to grow and expand as a person. As well as realizing what amazing family and friends I have, especially Rainer and Silke, I am truely blessed!

 Scrapwise I’ve been really busy, thank goodness for the outlet!
NZScrapbook Shop has so much devine products in now and I had the pleasure of playing with some gorgeous x-mas stuff, more pictures later.
Check out their cool competitions here. Woohoo would you believe it the amazing Jamie Waters to visit NZ Scrapbook Shop and is doing a workshop. I am soooooooooooooooo going!!!!You better be fast with the bookings as they are quickly filling up.

Then the gorgeous Paperpesto December kit Merry and Bright arrived. Lucky lucky me was the designer this month! Wowsee those gals know how to put together a fab kit alright! Unwrapping it was such a delight, love how beautifully presented the kits are! This kit is stuffed with x-mas spirit and I ‘ve already done heaps of projects and still got more product left!
Here’s a little project, the rest you can view for now on the Paperpesto Blog

Off to check out the blog world! Thanks for stopping by and I hope you all have a wonderful pre christmas season!

8 responses to “Back

  1. Gosh Ilka, you’ve been going through a lot! I knew about the house, but then to have your other knee start playing up and then being there for Chris during his hard times … you must feel totally spent. I’ll pray that things turn out well in all of the situations. ((HUGS))

    LOVE your PP work, and I’m sure your other DT stuff is just as amazing!! Having said that, I don’t know how you found time to do both kits at such a busy & stressful time – wow!

  2. Wow you have been a busy woman scrapping wise. Loved your projects Ilka. Sorry to hear there have been some tough times going on, but as you have said you have dug deep and these are providing you with some good opportunities. Just know you have a few scrapping friends here always ready to lend an ear. Take care Ilka. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

  3. Ilka you have been going through so much and you still managed to wow us all with your PP creations! You are an absolute inspiration to me woman. Stay strong and know that we are behind you 100% xx Kate.

  4. I had been wondering where and how you were Ilka! I am sorry it’s been rough lately. And especially I feel for Chris having to deal with relationship stuff. It’s never easy and like you say, you don’t want them to get hurt. I’m so glad he can talk to you guys – communication between you all can help you all.

    Thinking of you!

  5. Awesome work Ilka, I esp love your PP Christmas tree. Fantastic!!
    I so hear you about the other things you’ve said. Life throws all sorts at us and sometimes it’s a challenge to see the positive side of them.
    Take care.

  6. Sorry to hear you have been having a rough time lately, you sure are one wise lady, I hope things get better soon, see you on Saturday maybe?

  7. So sorry to hear you are having a rough time at the moment Ilka, life has a way of throwing curve balls at you just when it all seems to be ticking along so smoothly.

    I hope everything will settle down for you soon.

    Love everything you have created with the PP kit…especially the xmas tree….just gorgeous.

    Sending positive thoughts your way.

  8. ohh, ilka!! so sorry for beeing late!! hope everything went well for you and your family!! hugs!!

Leave a Reply

