Day 1

OK I did it, I really really did it! I am serious. It took me a long time to take this step….
I am becoming a non smoker! There I said it aloud online. 
Rainer stopped smoking 2 weeks ago, he’s never been as bad as me but he did it. I thought it best to stagger it a little so we dont meet at our worst heads on. Plus *sighs* I knew we said we needed to give up but when he came home one day telling me I didnt smoke all day, I was both, in panic and in awe… Cause it meant time for action from my side too.
Well today I took my first step. 7 am I had my last smoke, the packet was finished and I had promised myself it would be the last one I’d buy. On went the patch, I reckon I do a week with patches and maybe emergency puffer thingee, by then I hope I have build up enough ‘success’ to do away with the patches. We’ll see.
The gals at work were lovely and so supportive. I told them to tell me off  in case I go all uptight  or cranky …  Let’s hope I wont;p
How do I feel? Hmm I crave it ,at certain moments I caught myself looking for my smokes and then realized, hey I dont do that anymore….
This wont easy but so worth it. I’m proud for having made it through the first day.
Nighty night all and have a fabulous week!
ps: Oh yes and thanks for all your lovely comments to my last post, always makes my day to read you 🙂
12 responses to “Day 1

  1. Good luck Ilka!!! Although I don’t think you’ll need luck LOL Looking forward to seeing how you get on 🙂 And just think how much money you’ll save!!!

  2. Yay for you Ilka!! keep it up you are doing a great job! Im an ex smoker and did the patches etc but it was the thing in the mouth habit I found the hardest. Good on ya!

  3. Good on you Ilka! Keep it up babe you can do it!!! My hubby quit a year ago, now he runs every day and has never felt better.

  4. Good on you, Ilka!! That is so great, you are doing well so far and you WILL succeed! 🙂

  5. Wow weeee thats awesome Ilka. YOU can do it. Just take it one day at a time!!! So proud of you.

  6. you can do it Ilka! Just be strong.

  7. Yay go Ilka – you have your own personal cheering squad here – you can do it!!!

  8. Wowee! You go girl! It CAN be done. And we will cheer you on. Next time you’re in the supermarket pick up the Healthy Food Guide and check out the article in this month about making life style changes. Very helpful.

    One thing I found helpful when losing weight was to really feel excited about doing it. I think that helped me stay on track. Thinking about the new wardrobe I would have also helped, so maybe you can treat yourself to something at the 2, 4, 6 week mark – a nice dinner out, a show perhaps or some new CDs… something that will give you a reward.

    I feel excited for you! How silly is that? 🙂
    {hug}

  9. Way to go Ilka, that is just so awesome! I am so proud of you! I agree with everyone and Penny def give yourself little treats and rewards along the way!

  10. Go you! So proud of you! Hang in there.

  11. Woo hoo, you go girl. Absolutely a huge thing to tackle. You certainly do have your cheering squad here. You CAN do it!!!

  12. Wow, way to go Ilka. You know, you’ve done one of the hardest parts, and that was making the decision to do it. Keep it up, one day at a time, you can do it.

Leave a Reply

